We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. Do You agree?

Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences


General information

The main element of education at the Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences (SDNSP) is  the implementation of an individual PhD project in one of the scientific disciplines (Astronomy, Computer Science, Mathematics, Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Earth and Environmental Sciences) that are covered  by the school, under supervision of a faculty member chosen by the doctoral student (more information).

Education at SDNSP includes courses in the form of specialization and monographic lectures, workshops, seminars, two-day symposiums as well as courses and trainings to improve the skills of doctoral students in teaching. Some classes are a kind of interdisciplinary courses. They are centrally organized by the Doctoral School and dedicated to the PhD students of all disciplines.

During education at SDNSP, doctoral students can apply for co-financing in prestigious international conferences, workshops and summer schools. Courses take place on the Ochota campus with modern laboratories responding to the needs and challenges of the 21st century.

The graduated from the Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences, who gained the PhD degree, has a highly specialized education acquired under the supervision of leading scientists and is prepared to undertake independent scientific and teaching activities at universities and research institutes. In addition, the graduate will have gained extensive knowledge beyond the discipline in which he/she prepared his doctoral dissertation, as well as skills in conducting scientific and teaching activities.

Education at SDNSP is full-time and lasts 4 years (more information).

The Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences (SDNSP) is the place for those who want to get their doctorates in one of the following disciplines:


The Warsaw Doctoral School of Mathematics and Computer Science (WSDMI) is a part of the SDNSP and is jointly run by the University of Warsaw and the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences (IMPAN). The main mission of the WSDMI is to continue the century-old tradition of the Warsaw School of Mathematics by educating doctoral students in accordance with the highest world standards in the disciplines of mathematics and computer science and preparing them for the independent research and professional work. The WSDMI doctoral students are supervised by faculty members whose main place of employment is the University of Warsaw or IMPAN. The classes at the WSDMI are conducted by academic staff members from the University of Warsaw, IMPAN researchers and invited guests from these institutions.


List of PhD students



Director of the Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences

prof. dr hab. Michał Ksawery Cyrański

CENT, ul. Stefana Banacha 2c, 02-097 Warszawa, room 114 office hours are cancelled, please e-mail: mkc@chem.uw.edu.pl

Discipline Coordinators

astronomy – prof. dr hab. Andrzej Twardowski
mathematics and computer science – prof. dr hab. Rafał Latała
biological sciences – dr hab. Marta Wrzosek
chemical sciences – dr hab. Elżbieta Megiel
physical sciences – prof. dr hab. Andrzej Twardowski
Earth and environmental sciences – dr hab. Sebastian Kowalczyk

Mobility Coordinator: dr Anna Bąkowska

Council of the Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences

1) prof. dr hab. Michał Ksawery Cyrański – Chairperson of the Council – Headmaster of Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences; 
2) dr hab. Dorota Rosińska, prof. ucz. – discipline astronomy;
3) prof. dr hab. Łukasz Kowalik – discipline computer sciences;
4) prof. dr hab. Jerzy Tiuryn – discipline computer sciences;
5) prof. dr hab. Agnieszka Kałamajska – discipline mathematics;
6) prof. dr hab. Leszek Plaskota – discipline mathematics;
7) dr hab. Marta Wrzosek – discipline biological sciences;
8) dr hab. Magdalena Dziembowska – discipline biological sciences;
9) dr hab. Agnieszka Girstun discipline biological sciences;
10) prof. dr hab. Karol Grela discipline chemical sciences;
11) prof. dr hab. Krzysztof Maksymiuk – discipline chemical sciences;
12) dr hab. Maciej Mazur, prof. ucz. – discipline chemical sciences;
13) prof. dr hab. Piotr Szymczak discipline physical sciences;
14) prof. dr hab. Andrzej Twardowski – discipline physical sciences;
15) dr hab. Anna Żylińska, prof. ucz. – discipline Earth and environmental sciences;
16) dr hab. Sebastian Kowalczyk – discipline Earth and environmental sciences;
17) dr hab. Tomasz Adamowicz, prof. IMPAN– Institute of Mathematics Polish Academy of Sciences;
18) –  representative of doctoral students;
19)  –  representative of doctoral students.


Council of PhD Students of the Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences:
1. Przemysław Oliwa – head
2. Grzegorz Ostrowski
3. Gabriela Szczupaj
4. Mateusz Raczyński

Delegate to the PhD Students’ Council of the University of Warsaw:

1. Grzegorz Ostrowski
2.Gabriela Szczupaj

Representatives of PhD students to the Council of the Doctoral School of Exact and Natural Sciences:
1. Przemysław Oliwa

2. Mateusz Raczyński

Contact information: